top of page

Read it?: Throne of Glass

AUTHOR: Sarah J. Maas
YEAR PUBLISHED: 2012
GENRE: Drama, Action, Romance
OUR RATING: 3/5
Synopsis:
In a dystopian world where magic has long since died out, The imprisoned Assassin (or Celaena Sardothien) is offered a deal from the Crown Prince Dorian. Leave the mines to compete against all the deadliest assassins of the land in a fight to work for the King (her one greatest sworn enemy) or stay to rot in the mines. In hope of gaining her freedom, Celaena chooses to compete and is whisked away to a much richer lifestyle in the palace. But a darker existence lurks through the walls and Celaena is given a secret mission from an ancient source. But why are the assassin contestants being mysteriously murered one-by-one? Who is behind this and what could it mean for Celaena?
Review:
I heard a lot about this series before I started it. Sarah J. Maas is quite famous for these books and I had a friend practically threatening me so that I would start this book. So naturally, I had high expectations when I started reading this. Unfortunately though, I did find this book a bit of a struggle. The main character is one of those "perfect characters" that never does the wrong thing, and is always more impressive than the next person. Celaena is described as "the best of the best" which makes me think this story would be better through another character's perspective. However, the plot was entertaining. Throughout the first book especially, the romance is pretty weak and quite predictable. I also found the supernatural-magic-creatures-curses whole thing a bit hard to digest, which is unusual because I'm normally fine with fantasy. When I told my friend I wasn't too sure I loved this book, she replied that the whole series "doesn't get great until the third book". The THIRD BOOK! ARE YOU KIDDING? I thought you were supposed to give a book 20 MINUTES to get great! Not two books! So I'm not onto the third book yet, but holding on! Still quite an entertaining read and interesting concept but I am quite excited for the "plot twists" that are supposedly coming up! If you are reading this series, then don't lose heart with this book- half-way through the 2nd book there is a plot twist that gets the story rolling more!
If you've read this series please let me know what you think! I'd love to know you're opinion too!
matterofthyme xx
This post was written by Dusk
bottom of page