top of page

Recommended Recipe: Deliciously Ella- "THE ULTIMATE ENERGY BITES"

Hey guys!

This recipe was an early one that I tried while I was in the process of improving my diet. Starting out I became quite obsessed with finding a delicious sweet recipe with no refined sugar (obviously I was missing my chocolate bars and cupcakes). Deliciously Ella's website was the first I came across with good healthy recipes. Because I was quite new to the health movement, I was still using maple syrup, honey and dates in my recipes to sweeten them up naturally. Nowadays, I tend to use rice malt syrup in my recipes just because of the 0% fructose content. Still, using honey/dates/maple syrup is a HUGE improvement from using refined sugar in foods and I highly encourage trying them out in recipes instead of sugar to see how they even make desserts taste better.

So, if you are comfortable with using a fair amount of dates then keep reading, if not- maybe this recipe isn't for you.

But it is REALLY good.

I'd never really tried energy bites until I made these: "ULTIMATE ENERGY BITES".

These energy bites are super indulgent, chocolatey and full of raw superfoods; raw cacao powder, chia seeds, flax seed, coconut oil and nuts.

I made them without the protein powder (I'm sorry but there are no professional athletes in our family) and cashews instead of walnuts. They are really quick and easy to make as well, all you have to do is chuck the ingredients in a food processor and then roll out the mixture into balls!

The best thing about these little treats is the popularity they still have with sugar-eaters! Everyone I offered these to told me they were delicious and couldn't stop eating them! I even had a family member ask if I could make these for them and they'd pay me!

These are especially good if you need a pick-me-up snack at mid-morning or mid-afternoon, they do stay true to their name and provide you with lots of energy. I honestly could not guess that they were refined-sugar free if I'd tried them before. They really are that good.

I made these so often through my health transition that whenever I needed to improve the recipe, I just adjusted the next time. The only warning I can give is be careful if you melt the coconut oil- as rolling out the mixture will get really messy and greasy and your hands will be covered in oil!

Overall, these were a success! Well done Ella, I rate these a 9/10!

(the amount of dates is the only thing stopping the 10)

Stay tuned!

matterofthyme xx

This post was written by Dusk.

bottom of page